Industrialised country governments constituency

in page functions

The GAVI Alliance Board has five members from industrialised country governments

The industrialised country governments constituency is represented by five members: currently, Australia, France, the United Kingdom, Sweden and Italy.

Walter Seidel (Alternate) from the European Commission and Emmanuel Lebrun-Damiens (Alternate) from France represent these GAVI donor countries:

European Commission




Angela Santoni (Representative) from Italy and José Luis Solano (Alternate) from Spain represent these GAVI donor countries:



Anders Nordström (Representative) from Sweden and Beate Stirø (Alternate) from Norway represent these GAVI donor countries:


The Netherlands



Donal Brown (Representative) from the United Kingdom and Micheline Gilbert (Alternate) from Canada represent these GAVI donor countries:



United Kingdom

Jenny Da Rin (Representative) from Australia and Robert Clay (Alternate) from the USA represent these GAVI donor countries:


Korea (Republic of)


The United States of America

Nominations process

There is a donor-driven process in place, where the Secretariat informs each constituency whose seat is up for renewal that the Governance Committee requests it to identify a new Board member and alternate, preferably including female candidates. It is then up to the constituency to coordinate among its members to identify its selection. Each constituency has the freedom to nominate its sitting Board member and alternate, should it so desire.

4 million

GAVI support will contribute to immunising four million children against rotavirus diarrhoea by the end of 2015.

WHO Department of Immunisation, Vaccines and Biologicals’ estimates and projections, as of October 2012

More facts...

close icon

modal window here